The Power of Words


I’ve been meaning to post this for awhile as it was a great goal achievement throughout 2012. Finding time to read with a baby (and now toddler) in tow ended up being more of dream than I ever expected.

So, at the beginning of 2012, I resolved to:

read more (ahem…surf the internet less)

and include fiction and Booker Prize novels in my reading habits.

We’ll have to see how my literature consumption fares in 2013 with baby number two on the way. But I do hope some of the habits cultivated this year will transcend the sleep deprivation and chaos of a new Gosselin. Certainly over the next few months, I plan to keep books as a regular part of my diet.

The books I consumed in 2012 in no particular order.

  • The Road of Lost Innocence (Somaly Mam)
  • Burmese Days (George Orwell)
  • From Brokenness to Community (Jean Vanier)
  • A tale of two cities (Charles Dickens)
  • The art of hearing heartbeats (Jan-Philipp Sendker )
  • Cry, the beloved Country (John Paton)
  • Sacred Encounters from Rome to Jerusalem (Tamara Park)
  • Redeeming Love (Francine Rivers)
  • Brave New World (Aldous Huxley)
  • Paper Roses (Amanda Cabot)
  • When Corporations Rule the World (David C. Korten)
  • Cambodia’s Curse (Joel Brinkley)
  • Living Gently in a Violent World (Jean Vanier)
  • The Wounded Healer (Henri Nouwen)
  • Sky burial (Xinran Xue)
  • Practicing the Way of Jesus (Mark Scandrette)
  • Lone Paddle (Hugh Campbell)
  • Midnight’s Children (Salman Rushdie, Booker Prize 1981)
One thought on “The Power of Words”

  1. I have done much the same thing! I also tired of the Chapters top 20, and I have been looking for some different types of books. I just finished Jane Eyre (which I had never read before), and I have The Great Gatsby and Anna Karenina on the list next. I’ve read some great parentings books as well. Free Range Kids, The Mission of Motherhood, Grace Based Parenting, and I have picked up a few more great ones from the library to start on. I miss reading and having my mind challenged.

Leave a Reply

