Beautiful Freedom


In tandem with not letting myself worry this Lenten season, I’m also following along with World Vision’s Lent 2011: Relentless Acts of Justice. [You should sign up too. 🙂 ]

Task 1: put down on paper all the ways I am privileged when it comes to freedom.

Surprisingly, when I really think about it, my life is overflowing with grace abundant in this area. And I haven’t been grateful nearly enough. Here are my top 28.  

 

Mobility

  1. I am a citizen of a country that is among the top 10 best to live in the world (according to International Living Magazine.)
  2. My Canadian passport allows me to travel freely anywhere around the globe.
  3. I can go home whenever I want.
  4. I can go to the market and to work and to meet up with friends without fear or threat of bodily harm. 
  5. I chose to move to Cambodia.
  6. I have the keys to my house and can come and go as I please.
  7. I have the freedom to drive.
  8. I don’t live in a war zone.

Identity:

  1. I grew up believing that girls have value because my parents and my society taught me that.
  2. I finished high school and have the capacity to think critically about current affairs. There is a lot of freedom in that.
  3. I chose which university to go to and which program to major in.
  4. My whole life has been free of all forms of abuse.
  5. I always have and still do have, the freedom to dream about the future.

Family:

  1. I chose to marry my husband because I love him.
  2. My husband respects and loves me.
  3. Both of us were equally involved in family planning [contraceptives and otherwise].
  4. We share domestic activities 50/50

Work:

  1. My parents never had to sell me to pay off debt.
  2. I have the freedom to find work that is well paid, without coercion.

Association:

  1. I am a part of a church community where we have the freedom to associate and fellowship together without fear of retribution.

Voice & Justice:

  1. I can advocate for myself.
  2. I grew up  understanding the democratic process and believing that I do have a voice.
  3. When I turned 18, I voted. While living in Asia, I was still able to vote in the last Canadian elections.
  4. I still believe the police are on the citizen’s side because that is what I grew up understanding.
  5. I have the freedom to read newspapers and watch the media and form opinions about politics and current affairs.
  6. If I don’t like what a Canadian politician does, I can voice it without fear of retribution.
  7. And then I can write the editor.
  8. Or blog about it.

All in all. Pretty free. Pretty lucky.

And as the band Starfield puts it, “let the blessings you’ve poured out on me not be spent on me in vain. Let this life be used for change.” [I WIll GO]

Amen.

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Freedom”

  1. Nice post and I enjoy your optimism. However, always be vigilant. In America, it seems our freedoms are eroding at lightening speed.

Leave a Reply

