The Catch


I am pleased to say that I have actually followed through with a couple of New Year’s Resolutions.

1. read more classics and Booker prize novels.

2. Plow through the top shelf of my bookcase.

I ticked both of these boxes with one novel. But there was a catch.

I really didn’t enjoy Catch-22 (Joseph Heller). It took a lot of determination to get through all 400+ pages and when I closed the back cover I felt like I was still missing something.

Perhaps it’s the type of book I should have read as a part of a book club or class. There were too many layers, too much era-specific satire, and decade-specific language, that the impact the book should have had on me [on the back cover, critical acclaim noted noted that Catch-22 was certainly one of the most important literary works of the 20th century!] mostly went over my head.

Besides a few lines here and there that had me smiling and nodding in agreement, it was more of a chore than a pleasure.

So, I didn’t like it. But I did manage to follow through with a goal. And I learned something important in the process.

Some books are just better read with others!

One thought on “The Catch”

  1. I totally agree with you, Amie! I did like it overall, but I agree with your comments and I didn’t really get into it. Charlie, on the other hand, fell in love with it and still (3 years later) quotes from it verbatim!

Leave a Reply

