What I am and ain’t 10 years on


Photo thanks to http://weheartit.com

 It’s been ten years since I graduated from high school. At the moment, many of my classmates are celebrating our 10-year reunion. I’m not going – not cause I don’t want to – but because I live in Cambodia. And it’s not that easy to just fly home. 

Also, I’ll admit. High school wasn’t my favourite season of life. The popularity contest. The games. The insecurity. I sure didn’t jump at the chance to pay $1500 to run back to Cochrane, AB to celebrate with people I’ve hardly kept in touch with over the past decade. 

But in honour of my 10 year reunion, here are some of the ways I think I’ve changed over the past 10 years.  

  • I am no longer a teetotaler.
  • I am not scared of driving a motorbike.
  • I am not famous and I’m okay with that.
  • I am less judgmental (I hope). [i am almost positive I made following Jesus all about rules and only for prudes and the perfect.]

    photo from http://weheartit.com
  • I have learned to live more in the present and to enjoy the experiences and relationships that are here and now.
  • Traveling and working abroad has has opened up the world for me. And I realize, I’m tired of being a narcissist.
  • I realize I’m a narcissist (hopefully naming it is the first step on the road to recovery).
  • I met Steve.
  • My family has lived through bouts of depression, an eating disorder, deaths of loved ones and chronic anxiety. These sober experiences have brought me back to reality and helped me to appreciate joy.
  • I now like to and can cook. (It’s a miracle. The first time I made Kraft Dinner I botched it).
  • I play ultimate frisbee.
  • I believe community is important.
  • I am a part of a house church and believe it is a beautiful and legitimate expression of worship and faith.
  • I don’t have something scheduled every night of the week.

I am still learning of course. I am still learning that my value doesn’t come from the number of things I do and how well I do them. But there’s been movement. I like that.

Leave a Reply

