on my mind…


Today. After a series of meetings, I was reminded of my humanity. That the world doesn’t owe me anything. And that it sure doesn’t revolve around me. That things won’t go as I expect. But they’ll probably turn out alright. 

This quote draws me back to my source. It reminds me of what is real – that all of our relationships, my experiences, my decisions need to be seen in light of divine love. The Truth. The Life.

Nouwen has a gift of putting the deepest things in my heart into words. I couldn’t express this better myself…and so I won’t.

[The divine embrace] is the place where I so much want to be, but am so fearful of being. It is the place where I will receive all I desire, all that I ever hoped for, all that I will ever need, but it is also the place where I have to let go of all I most want to hold on to. It is the place that confronts me with the fact that truly accepting love, forgiveness, and healing is often much harder than giving it. It is the place beyond earning, deserving, and rewarding. It is the place of surrender and complete trust.
Henri J. M. Nouwen, The Return of the Prodigal Son

Leave a Reply

