Matthew 25 by John Stott


I am always inspired by the people I meet in Cambodia – Cambodians and expats alike.  I am challenged by them.  I am humbled by them.  And I always go home overwhelmed and grateful that God has created so many precious people – each so unique, so differently passionate – yet all made in the same image.  And we’re all on the same team!   

Kim is one of these people.  I went to the clinic in Phnom Penh where she’s been working for the past six months.  I went home changed.  Down a dusty side road on the outskirts of Phnom Penh, next to the open canal that stinks for miles, Kim helps women who work in brothels.  She loves them and cares for their babies.  She gives them medecine and walks with them as they learn preventative measures so maybe they won’t need so much medecine anymore. 

Thank you Kim for your work and your sense of humor and your willingness to share your experiences with us.  And for reminding me that following Jesus is about love – not just justice, but justice in love.  And that as we give cups of water and feed the least of these – we are serving Jesus himself.     

From Kim’s latest blog post: 

An interpretation of Matthew 25 by a homeless women:

I was hungry and you formed a humanities group to discuss my hunger.
I was imprisoned and you crept off quietly to your church and prayed for my release.
I was naked and in your mind you debated the morality of my appearance.
I was sick and you knelt and thanked God for your health.
I was homeless and you preached to me of the spiritual shelter of the love of God.
I was lonely and you left me alone to pray for me.
You seem so holy, so close to God,
but I am still very hungry – and lonely – and cold.

By John Stott

Leave a Reply

