thy kingdom come…


The world is not dangerous because of those who do harm but because of those who look at it without doing anything.  

Albert Einstein-  

I saw this posted on a wall at my parent’s church in Strathmore before we left for Cambodia.  It reminds me of conversations I sometimes have with people about geo-political issues…about poverty…about the world and what the Christian response should be.  

I’ve often heard Matthew 26:11 as a response to poverty… “The poor you will always have among you.”  But I don’t think that verse can be interpreted as an excuse to not be involved in the world.  Jesus taught his followers to pray, “your kingdom come, your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.”  We have to see the words of Jesus within the whole context of his life.  To be a follower of Jesus is to walk in the way of Jesus – bringing a little bit of heaven onto earth wherever we can.  

 

When I look at the world, I want to do something – not out of a need to feel good about myself, or to somehow save myself from something, but because that’s what Jesus did.  He loved people – the rich and the poor – right where they were at.  Jesus looked at the world and did something…he sacrificed himself and history changed.     

 

One thought on “thy kingdom come…”

Leave a Reply

