Thinking about Faith…


Since returning home from Argentina, I’ve been levelled with the worst cold I’ve had in years. I suppose after the busy fall, and two weeks of international travel, my body was just too tired to keep up with me. That said, I’ve had a lot of time to think.
I found a copy of Francis A. Schaeffer’s True Spirituality on a bookshelf in my grandma’s house in Prince Albert and have slowly been working through it. It’s a tough theological chew, but some parts have caught my eye.
“…it is obvious that there is no mechanical solution to true spirituality or the true Christian life. Anything that has the mark of the mechanical upon it is a mistake. It is not possible to say, read so many of the chapters of the Bible every day and you will have this much sanctification. It isn’t possible to say, pray so long every day and you will have a certain amount of sanctification…For the fact is that the Christian, true spirituality can never have a mechanical solution. The real solution is being cast up into the moment-by-moment communion, personal communion, with God himself, letting Christ’s truth flow through me through the agency of the Holy Spirit.”
Wouldn’t it be easier to be a follower of Jesus if there was a recipe for success? A list of do’s and don’ts? It just isn’t that way though – the Christian life is marked by grace. It’s not what we do that saves us…
That being said, being marked by grace, not earning our salvation, doesn’t just allow me to sit back and do nothing…because true religion is taking care of orphans and widows in their distress, and Jesus did say that to follow him we must die to self and pick up our own crosses.
So there’s the continual balance, or tension if you will – It is by grace that we are saved and faith without works is dead.
I’m still trying to figure out what that all looks like moment by moment living in the presence of God.
Leave a Reply

